Feed

How to edit a pdf

Goodmorning All,

I am quite new to the group. Thanks to Eric for registering me and introducing me to augwessex.

I am still learning to use the mac.I haven't looked back in the previous posts, but I have a question about pdfs.
Is it possible to edit a pdf without downloading software? I need to send a bank statement for proof of ID and I don't have a scanner, so i thought I could download a statement and blackout all a/c details and so far haven't found a way to do it. I would appreciate any suggests.
Thanks very much,
Sarita

Re: How to edit a pdf

If you have a smart phone you could take a picture of the document and then import it into the Mac and use Preview to work on the picture.

If you look at the various phone apps you can find apps then scan documents to create text files etc.

The Preview application that comes with macOS has features for marking up and annotating PDFs (adding notes, drawing lines/shapes, &c.).

However, I don’t think they are suitable for this particular purpose, because as far as I know they do not include a proper redaction tool. The problem is that while you could use Preview’s annotations to apparently obscure parts of the document – e.g. by drawing black rectangles over it – the obscured content would still be present in the file and could be extracted by somebody with a bit of technical knowledge.

(Of course if you are going to print the result instead of sending the edited PDF then it should be fine.)

You can also get Preview to export the PDF file as a JPG after you have applied the changes, the JPG file would not know of the redacted data so should be secure.