<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<feed xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom">
  <title type="text">When is an external HD safe to disconnect?</title>
  <updated>2026-09-30T17:10:47+01:00</updated>
  <generator uri="http://framework.zend.com" version="1.12.20">Zend_Feed_Writer</generator>
  <link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://www.augwessex.org.uk/discussions/view/2244"/>
  <link rel="self" type="application/atom+xml" href="https://www.augwessex.org.uk/discussions/view/2244/feed"/>
  <id>https://www.augwessex.org.uk/discussions/view/2244</id>
  <author>
    <name>AUGW</name>
    <email>info@augwessex.org.uk</email>
    <uri>https://www.augwessex.org.uk/</uri>
  </author>
  <entry xmlns:xhtml="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <title type="html"><![CDATA[When is an external HD safe to disconnect?]]></title>
    <updated>2026-09-28T16:52:03+01:00</updated>
    <link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://www.augwessex.org.uk/discussions/view/2244#11019"/>
    <id>https://www.augwessex.org.uk/discussions/view/2244#11019</id>
    <author>
      <name>Richard I</name>
      <email>info@augwessex.org.uk</email>
      <uri>https://www.augwessex.org.uk/</uri>
    </author>
    <content xmlns:xhtml="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" type="xhtml">
      <xhtml:div xmlns:xhtml="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">I have a 4TB external HD which I use for timemachine backups. At the end of a backup I eject the disk by "right clicking" its icon and selecting eject. The icon disappears -which I have always assumed means that it is safe to disconnect it. However, I have found that it continues to "chunter" (disk head movement)  for over a minute.<xhtml:br/>
What is it doing?<xhtml:br/>
When is it OK to disconnect?<xhtml:br/>
Thanks<xhtml:br/>
Richard</xhtml:div>
    </content>
  </entry>
  <entry xmlns:xhtml="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <title type="html"><![CDATA[Re: When is an external HD safe to disconnect?]]></title>
    <updated>2026-09-30T17:10:47+01:00</updated>
    <link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="https://www.augwessex.org.uk/discussions/view/2244#11020"/>
    <id>https://www.augwessex.org.uk/discussions/view/2244#11020</id>
    <author>
      <name>Mick Burrell</name>
      <email>info@augwessex.org.uk</email>
      <uri>https://www.augwessex.org.uk/</uri>
    </author>
    <content xmlns:xhtml="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" type="xhtml">
      <xhtml:div xmlns:xhtml="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">A year after your last backup ;-)<xhtml:br/>
<xhtml:br/>
Time Machine is a very complex database keeping track of old files and their recent revisions. To maintain space when necessary, it will delete old files providing there is a newer version. The disc is probably tidying up after it has copied all that's necessary so is best left attached until you're sure it's no longer working - hence my initial flippant comment.<xhtml:br/>
<xhtml:br/>
With a desktop machine, I'd advise leaving it permanently connected unless you have a specific reason for not doing so. I appreciate that with a laptop this is not practical.</xhtml:div>
    </content>
  </entry>
</feed>
